Write about the following topic: The world of work is changing rapidly and employees cannot depend on having the same job or the same working conditions for life. Discuss the possible causes for this rapid change, and suggest ways of preparing people for the world of work in the future. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s employment fratenity, it is has become impossible to depend on the same job for several years. The digital economy is growing exponentially and some jobs are increasingly becoming irrelevant. The same applies for working conditions which cannot remain the same over years.

Due to the advent of technologies such as artificial intelligence, block chain and internet of things several occupations are continuosly being replaced. Professional white collar jobs such as data entry clerks and teachers are being replaced by the use of internet and online learning. Technnology such as robots aid in reducing monotonous tasks and are more efficient than humans in terms of productivity as they do note get exhaused nor are they affected by emotions.Therefore, it is imperative for employees to stay abreast of the technological changes that may impact their careers.

The recent covid-19 pandemic has also reshaped the way on how people work. Working from home has become a norm for some proffesionals for instance accountants may have a three day working week. These working conditions were not present in the previous years and the pandemic forced businesses to rethink their strategies. Unlike in the old days were employees had to be always on site to perform their duties, the new normal is versatile.

In the future, employers and employees ought to be proactive on new technologies and its features. This is through following media reports, business seminars and surfing through the internet for recent changes. Lastly, schools should teach critical thinking skills that enable future employees to react in the dynamic work environment.