Write about the following topic: There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Being successful is without a doubt the dream of many, for this reason, the discussion about whether success can be measured by academic performance or not has been widely made. Interest in academic subjects has massively increased whereas non-academic subjects such as sports and culinary arts have lost their popularity so it was discussed whether they should be removed from the school curriculum or not so that students can have more time to fully focus on academic assignments.

Success can appear in millions of different forms and variations. But to achieve good proficiency in any profession, one should learn it profoundly and complete several levels based on a structured syllabus. All professions should have their special learning materials and effective methods for beginners to reach their potential and goals. Unfortunately, today’s sense of education and success has affected this vital need which we all know as education in several negative ways and seemingly plagued the faith in non-academic professions since it was even discussed whether non-academic education should be taken out from the syllabus. Children should be allowed to pick whichever working area suits them the best and what they would love to do for the rest of their lives. Thus, we can say that children need learning places that can offer them multiple life choices and get them ready for real-life experience, we can only do this by including real-life jobs in the school environment. Getting rid of anything that isn’t academy-related at schools can bring out the biggest obstacle for the countries and the future of the service industry which will eventually contribute to the fall of the companies and trade market.

I believe success comes with the passion one has for whatever they are doing and the discipline itself. There are thousands of various aims for anyone in the world and aiming for the same goal together and telling the younger generations that they should have the same goals will bring us nothing but anxiety, depression, and many other mental health struggles for the youth. I find the idea of removing non-academic subjects from the learning system extremely dangerous for the future of thousands of professions and I can say I highly disagree with this idea.