Write about the following topic: There is no doubt that globalisation has benefited the world by bringing together people, business and nations. People who criticise it stand in the way of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Globalisation has helped humankind leap forward by bringing people, businesses and nations together. People who criticize the global economy lacks to see the big-picture perspective of its advantages.

By bringing people from different parts of the world together, many are gaining firsthand experience of different cultures, festivals, and traditions. This positively contributes towards global peace, as more people are becoming aware and respectful towards different cultures. Furthermore, globalisation is helping to achieve Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) by encouraging all nations to keep aside their differences and act as one to address global issues. Furthermore, the rapid innovations which we see today are a result of global collaborations of bright minds from different nations. This was not previously possible as every nation wanted to keep its resources for themselves.

From a business perspective, globalisation has helped companies to expand their operations globally and scale rapidly, which has helped them to drive revenue growth and reduce costs in unprecedented ways. This has also helped to create more jobs in countries, which were previously underdeveloped.

For instance, an Indian company named Wipro, which solely operated in India until the 1990s, was struggling to generate enough revenue to be sustainable. However, thanks to globalisation and the opening up of borders by various countries, Wipro started rapidly scaling to Western countries in the 1990s and 2000s, which helped it to skyrocket its top line and thereby its profits. Additionally, this also generated tons of jobs in India, which even contributed in the growth of Indian economy as a whole.

In my opinion, globalisation is helping the world become a better place each day by bringing businesses, people and nations together to work as one rather than working in silos. People who fail to see this are indeed standing in the way of progress.