Write about the following topic: Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a 'fat tax' is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, diets that might cause obesity and unhealthiness on human bodies are considered to implement a “fat tax” on them, whereas others assert its unfairness and inessentiality.

On one hand, unhealthy foodstuff could have adverse impacts on both individuals and the economy. What is the definition of an unhealthy food? Probably those contain large portions of sugar and unwholesome oil. It is true and certain that those can cause higher risks on health issues such as obesity, cancers and diseases. If there are more health problems, then more medical resources are required, which may be claimed to be a waste of society resources. Moreover, mental health might be a concern due to the culture of the society to judge people based on their appearance.

On the other hand, comestible high in sugar would be essential to a number of groups of people. For instance, nurses working in a rapid paced workplace do not have much time to have a proper meal, the quickest way to maintain their energy is to suck a drink that is high in calories, which normally contains high amounts of sugar. Those kinds of “unhealthy food” are in high demand to the nurses that it is needful to recover their energy instantly in order to take care of their patients. It is not fair to those working in a swift paced environment to spend extra money onmerely acquire quick energy sources.

In conclusion, I appreciate the concern about eating too much unhealthy cuisine, nevertheless, there are a number of occupations such as medical workers that require it indeed. Hence, I persist in opposing the policy of a “fat tax”.