Writing task 2. Some people argue that the government should spend money only on medical care and education but not on theatres or sport stadiums. Do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that the authorities should spend money only on tangible and immediate benefits, such as medical care and educational systems, but not on theatres or sport stadiums. In my opinion, although healthcare and education are important, the role of theatres and sports should not be marginalized.

Clearly, healthcare and education are vital for the social well-being of a country. Improving the health services helps increase productivity and reduce mortality rates, while educational systems equip the future generations with knowledge and skills, thereby forming a better workforce bringing about economic growth and improving living standards in the near future. For instance, in the United Kingdom, the National Health Service (NHS) is publicly funded and provides free healthcare for all citizens. This system helps ensure that even the poorest members of society can receive treatment, contributing to a healthier and more equitable society.

On the other hand, the investment in theatres and stadiums should be highly recommended. Besides the impact of medical care and education, theatres and sport stadiums also play an important role in bringing spiritual values to citizens. In theatres, there are plays and works of art reflecting traditions, beliefs social issues or perspectives of the society. The increase in audience due to investment in other art forms which help raise awareness of traditional norms. As a result, these values help people learn to appreciate culture, thereby forming national pride and loyalty. Similarly, in sport stadiums, there are matches that help foster social connection, relieve stress. Thus, people can promote a healthy life. Although tangible values are crucial, it is undeniable that spiritual beliefs contribute to ensuring the ongoing well-being of the citizens. Both physical and mental values are critical factors which lead to the happiness and comprehensive development of the residents.

In conclusion, while there are good grounds for the investment in medical care and education, I firmly side with advocates of theatres and sport stadiums. A well-rounded society needs not only health and knowledge but also culture, entertainment, and recreation to thrive.