Writing task 2. Some people argue that the government should spend money only on medical care and education but not on theatres or sport stadiums. Do you agree or disagree?

With advances in medical equipment becoming part of our everyday lives, it is thought that the authorities should spend money only on tangible and immediate benefits, such as medical care and educational systems, but not on theatres or sport stadiums. In my opinion, although healthcare and education are important, theatres and sports should not be marginalized.

Clearly, healthcare and education are vital for the social well-being of a country. Improving the health services helps increase productivity and reduce mortality rates, while educational systems equip the future generations with knowledge and skills, thereby forming a better workforce in the near future. For instance, in the United Kingdom, the National Health Service (NHS) is publicly funded and provides free healthcare for all citizens. This system helps ensure that even the poorest members of society can receive treatments, contributing to a healthier and more equitable society.

Besides the impact of medical care and education, theatres also play an important role in bringing spiritual values. This is because in the theatres, there are plays and works reflecting social issues and perspectives. The increase in audience raises the amount of knowledge about traditional values and international values. As a result, these values help people learn to appreciate culture, thereby forming national pride and loyalty. Although physical values are crucial, it is undeniable that spiritual beliefs contribute to ensuring the ongoing well-being of the citizens. Both physical values and mental values are factors which lead to the happiness and comprehensive development of the residents.

In conclusion, while there are good grounds for the investment of medical care and education, I firmly side with advocates of theatres and sport stadiums. A well-rounded society needs not only health and knowledge but also culture, entertainment, and recreation to thrive.