WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 2 50 words.

Schooling and education are key factors in a kid’s development and growth. A school is a place for all types of learning. A child not only learns language, art, or how to calculate sums in their head, but also how to get stronger mentally and physically. Any educational institute is necessary for socialization and childhood development.

Learners in school do in fact face lots of challenges too. Not every child is the same, and not all kids learn at the same speed. Which leads to a division in the classroom. Quizzes and exams in schools create a clear line between high achievers and average scorers. Teachers praise the kids with higher scores, leaving the other students’ hard work go unnoticed. Classrooms often experience teasing of a few children if they get the answer to questions wrong. These events start a race in the minds of students, a race for getting better grades than others. This leads some parents to believe that schools have a negative impact on children due to competition. Some children get disappointed and sad if they are not the best in their class. On one hand, some parents are against competitiveness, but on the other hand there are some parents who think that this environment is actually healthy for a student’s growth. Some guardians believe that healthy competition is the source of motivation, and that without it kids would lose the willingness to do better. Wanting to come first in examinations and winning small races is something all kids want to experience, and there is nothing wrong with this wish. Competition is actually encouraged by a few parents.

In my humble opinion, it is human nature to always want to do better and to have a bit of rivalry, but as soon as it comes to being happy if another person lost to you, that is when this thought process fails.