WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Internet is a tool of great importance in the modern world. No one denies its significance, but there are people who think that the internet has increasingly become home to dangerous content and for them government censorship is the only way to guarantee its safety. I personally think that there’s certain information that must definitely be controlled by the government but there should be limits to such censorship.

Internet and social media especially have lately become platforms where certain people share content that is full of hate, bigotry and harmful messages. For example, facebook is full of groups that promote extreme idealogies and call for violence against certain group of people. It is crucial for the government to impose control on such groups and creators and ban them from the internet. Additionally, there are whole websites out there in the digital space that cater to criminals, murderers and pedophiles. Therefore, Having government censorship will ensure the safety of our communities.

As mentioned above, there are situations where control over the internet is paramount, but it’s important to set limits to the censorship to avoid turning into an authoritarian state. If the government and it’s control is left unchecked, it will result in violation of democracy and human rights. To bring an example, a certain government could use censorship tools to limit their opposition and use them to enforce authoritatian rule. They might remove any content that goes against their agenda, regardless whether that content poses any harm to public or not. This is why it’s ideal for the establishment to have some form of control but also to have certain checks and balances in the system.

To sum it up, I believe it’s important to have government control over certain areas of the internet that pose immediate threat to the public community and at the same time it’s crucial to limit such censorship to appropriate levels to ensure this power won’t be abused.