WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The internet is deemed to be a dangerous place that contains unfriendly content. In order to make the internet a safer place, the government should be able to take down anything harmful and protect its citizens. Personally, I am in favor of the government being in partial control of what is exposed on the internet. However, many condemn this control as they see it as a restriction by the government and a limit to the freedom of speech that the internet provides.

To begin with, the government being in complete control of what is available on the internet helps eliminate problems such as hacking, stealing, suicidal thoughts, and even depression. This can be done through censoring harmful comments in public chating rooms, blocking dangerous online games, and removing videos that promote harmful ideas. For example, since many kids tend to self-harm when playing the online game called “Roblox”, this game can be closely monitored by the government to minimize the danger that children expose themselves to through playing it.

On the other hand, when the government has full control of what is displayed on the internet, all citizens will only be exposed to what the government thinks is “right.” What the government allows might not be what other people consider correct and vice versa. This will also give the government the power to restrict any opposing opinions that contradict it, creating an autocratic leadership system. For instance, when the government restricts all comments that criticise the leadership of the country, the citizens will not feel seen or heard, preventing any improvements that can be done to better the country.

To reach a middle ground, I think that the government should be in partial control of the information provided on the internet. This can be done by creating a group of representatives decided by the citizens to collaboratively decide on what should be censored and what shouldn’t be censored from the internet. This protects the people from the harmful content; yet, still allows for the freedom of speech and democracy.

In conclusion, the government should not have complete control of what is exposed on websites, but control should still be implemented partially. In my opinion, that is the perfect solution that satisfies both parties and makes the internet a safer place for a better environment.