WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In this modern technological era relationship and bonding in-between the people have become a strongly debated topic. A group of people believe that, latest innovations in technology have strengthened the bond between the people, whereas others claim that it has widened the gap between relationships. This essay will first look at the arguments in favour before turning into the points against it. In spite of the arguments against, I firmly believe that technology plays an important role in bringing people together.

One significant point in favour of this argument is, technology brings everyone from different corners of the world under one roof. Nowadays, people are able to communicate with anybody in the world at any time despite their geographical location. For example, a mother in Canada is able to have real time video conferencing through mobile devices with her daughter in another country far miles apart. Along with the innovations in digital social media, the bond between the people is strengthening more and more.

On the other hand, modern technology consumes a vast amount of time and consequently reduces family time. With the increasing use of the latest technological devices, people especially children and teenagers decrease the time they spend with family. For instance, children these days are spending a lot of time playing digital games and don’t have enough time to spend with their family. Hence, due to some of the digital innovations, the people got apart from each other.

In summary, modern technology provides vast opportunities for people to strengthen their relationships. However, it has some adverse effects on family bonding especially in young children. In my point of view I strongly agree that technology has opened a gate to enhance the relationship between the people and bring them close together.