WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people say that now is the best time in history to be living. What is your opinion about this? What other time in history would be interesting to live in? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In today’s competitive job market, the choice between working for a large organization or a startup is a major decision that can determine anyone’s career trajectory. While some will advocate for the advantages of working with an established company such as clear career pathway and improved wages, others argue that working with a startup has more benefits, such as exposure to learning beyond your career path and faster career growth. In my opinion, working for a large company provides superior benefits that can lead to a more rewarding career.

In general, working for an established company offers you more support because they have more resources. For example, they can afford to send their employees on external trainings to enable them improve on their jobs, they also have budget to support their employees’ welfare (HMO, vacation allowance). On the other hand, startups have limited resources dedicated to improving their employee’s welfare, this could be as a result of low revenue for them.

The size of a company determines their success, as a result there is more stability in terms of Job security. It is rare for large companies with clear organizational policies to unfairly dismiss their staff. These instances are common with small companies, leading to court cases for the company and job instability for the affected individual.

Finally, in terms of income, big organizations tend to offer better pay and progressively increase their staff salary. For example, the company who I currently work for gives us five to ten percent increase on our basic income, although, this is depending my overall KPI score. Relating this to my experience at the previous job, which was a startup. I worked for them for 3 years and I barely got an increase because the company was struggling to pay salaries.

In summary, it is more advantageous to work for a large company because they offer better salary, job security and they have more resources to support their employees.