WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Several countries around the world had been implementing a system where young men between 21 and 30 have to go through a compulsory military service for a few years, to either repay the nation that gives shelter to them or to equip them with skills, displine and confidence, necessary to become the so-called “Man”. Whilst it has its own advantages for both the country and its citizens, I personally disagree with the idea of every country adopting this system for both men and women.

On top of all, I firmly believe that every citizen has the right to do with own life, whether that be persuing a career or an academic path way, that requires a tremendous amount of time and effort. It would just be a waste for them to spend two or three years taking part in the training, knowing they should be chasing their ambitions while they are physically young and energetic, their minds being fresh. It is true on one hand that it would only be safe for the country to equip its citizens with military skills. However, letting the young adults pursue their academic dreams can also be beneficial for the country in the long run; and that forbidding them to do so is totally unfair. For instance, in Myanmar, current rules and regulations forbid all the students from leaving the country to chase further studies abroad, just for a vague reason of military service, which I think is unright.

Moreover, one reason I strongly disagree with this opinion is that some people are just not fit for the service. There are people born physically vulnurable, or didnt enjoy taking part in physical activies but stayed inside with a book since childhood. It would be a shock for them from living their lives in peace to suddenly making them train like a marine. Thereby, I believe that every people should have their own right to make a decision of joining the military or not.

In conclusion, while the mandatory military service had already been rooted in some countries’ policies, I do not think that it is something every nation should follow. I strongly agree with the people, following their passion, reaching the stars, and having their own ways of repaying their mother land.