WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

A lot of people see that technology brings people closer and enhances bonds between them, while others believe it does the opposite. I believe that technology drives people to be isolated and weakens the society.

People think that technology brings them together as they can communicate with each other using social media platforms such as Facebook, wherever they are. Nowadays, many people make friends online from different countries and continents, and whey they travel abroad, they meet physically. In addition to that, utilizing social media websites and applications, people can make video calls, send messages and reply to them whenever they want, which makes communication more convenient. As a result, it has become easier to make online friends and keep them for a long-term period however, this online friendship does not provide the intimacy that the real friendship offers.

On the other hand, others see that modern technology diminishes the bonds between people, since many of them are addicted to their smarphones and social media websites. Consequently, they abandon people surrounding them and divert their focus towards their smartphones, leading to a state of isolation to many of them. Additionally, technology promotes anger, mistrust, violence by the content released on websites such as Youtube and Facebook, introducing these feelings in people watching them. This diminishes good interpersonal feelings such as love resulting in a bad relationship between people that was existed before.

In conclusion, I believe that technology weakens the society, making people more isolated and do not care about each other.