WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 2 50 words.

Many people believe that a disproportionate competition occures at schools which has a negative effect on juveniles, however, many other members of the pupblic firmly oppose this idea and state that this competition encourages them to study and accomplish their goals. In my view, competition at schools causes the children to be under pressure permanently.

On the one hand, having schools to be overly competitive would only lead to pressure pupils causing them to get bad grades and to loose their selfconfidence. When learning in a class full of children that work overly hard just to be the best is a toxic environment for learning, because when a student is not as good as the others on a certain topic, he wouldn’t ask for help because of the pressure he would get from his classmates, his teachers and his parents. The reason for that is the fact that competition inevitably leads to comparision between the students, which will apply a pressure on certain ones, resulting in them having even worse grades and stress even more, as they are in the stigma of not keeping up in the competition. For instance, a study was made at a school in the USA where every pupil was told to do their best without comparing to others, the results ended up being a significantly increased number of children that correctly assimilated the lesson and were overall less stressed.

On the other hand, people that advocate for competitive environments mainly rely on the fact that competition pushes the pupils to get better continuously. Having juveniles to work hard and put on much efforts in their studies would lead to a serious, deciplined and well-instructed generation. In addition, competition often leads to increase significantly the comprehension of pupils, because they have to work harder and study more everytime, which leads to better grades and better marks. For example, when a child witnesses that the other children are doing better at school, he feels that he should put on more efforts to keep up with them, as a result, the student will improve and develop a strong sens of dscipline.

In conclusion, although some members of the public defend competition at schools, its disadvantages outnumber its advantages, as it negatively affects the psycologic state of the juveniles. Therefore, I strongly disagree to make schools overly competitive environments.