Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree. You should write at least 250 words.

It is argued that school is only for academic purposes, while other skills such as cookery, dressmaking, and woodwork should be learned at home with family and friends. I strongly disagree with this statement because school is a place to study, not only for academic skills but also for other skills. Additionally, family and friends can support learning better.

To begin, school is a place for learning, both academic and nonacademic. Even though academic success and passing exams are necessary for the future, nonacademic success can also support to reach the peak. Therefore, schools should support their students to learn their other skills, such as cooking, dressmaking, and woodworking, in school. Despite that home is also a place to study, most of the students cannot do that at home. Many factors, such as their home not being supportive for studying, parental obstruction, and others. For instance, some parents prohibit their child from cooking in the house. This led to no cooking skill for that child. Because of that, school is the only way to learn cooking.

Next, most schools had other activities called extracurriculars. This activity can sharpen student’s nonacademic skills. They learn how to cook, dressmaking, woodworking, archery, and many others. Although they cannot learn in their house, parents can still support their child in school while doing extracurricular activities. For students, this led to new skills learned other than academic skills, which can be used in their house. For instance, students that take part in cooking extracurricular in their schools get supported by their parents. Parents support their child by paying for the extracurricular fee, and in the future, their child can help to cook at home.