WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, the internet is said to be the glue that sticks people together. However, some people disagree with this thought. In this essay, I will explain how we are benefitted by the internet, as it brings us close to our loved ones even if we are miles apart. I will also state how the internet, being so advantageous, has a disadvantage as well.

The latest technology has helped people stay connected with their family and loved ones through various features available. This keeps the feeling of love alive and helps one emotionally when far away from home. For instance, I, being an international student, often feel homesick. Fortunately, with the help of the latest video call features, I am able to stay in touch with my family members and my friends in India. It helps me fight loneliness and my parents know my whereabouts.

Looking on the other side, although the web has its benefits, it also is a con in the case of young students. Due to the latest softwares available, universities and schools have started teaching courses online. This has led to students not gaining the necessary exposure and negligible interactivity. Youngsters don’t have to attend college for any reasons, such as exams, assignments, presentations, exhibitions, workshops, etc. Everything has been made possible online with the help of the World Wide Web and its diverse capabilities.

In my opinion, even though the internet has a few downfalls, at the end, it has more benefits. From smartphones to tablets, every functionality is an advantage for us. It can be said that, with the latest technical features in place, people are becoming more efficient and smarter and the options to explore are increasing rapidly.