WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

“Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses?”

Aviation has been my passion from childhood. These giant still birds always made me feel excited, I spend a hours to watch landing and takeoff in my local airport in my hometown. Years passed and for the first time I found myself on a plane, not like an observer on the ground, but as a passenger. That was incredible and mesmorizing feelings. It happenes to me when I was studying in the university about 15 years ago. Since then I try to fly at least a few times every 2-3 months.

But everything has changed and my opinions about the environmental impact of flying as well. I realized how aviation influence over ecology. I completely agree with this idea that the number of flights should be reduced if possible. Especially if we can use other ground transportation like trains, buses or long-distance ferries.

On the other hand, we should improve our aircraft technology. Reducing the carbon footprint is the number one priority for future engines. Even right now we have a tangible success in this, for example ATR-72 is a much ecology friendly plane compared to similar models of SAAB-340 – efficiency has increased by 60% and with it emissions into the atmosphere.

In conclusion I’d like to say that we should take the issue of air pollution through aviation more seriously. And our efforts should be linked not only to reducing personal flights but also to improving aircraft technology.