WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: More and more people nowadays visit well-known places to take photographs of themselves, without looking at the place. Why do you think this is happening? Is it a positive or a negative trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Beyond The Photographs

Nowadays, tourist attractions have been booming with popularity, gaining visitors of both tourists and local citizens. Whether it was a cozy café or wild, natural waterfalls, people will visit wherever the crowd follows. People tend to take photographs of themselves at well-known places, without looking at the place itself. What does this say about them? Is it a positive or negative trend? This essay will talk about the following, discussing the underlying reason of this trend.

First and foremost, social media has also been getting more users and popularity throughout recent years. With more users, people began to worry about their online and digital life. This causes people to have the want to fill up their profiles and posts to show off to others and share part of their daily lives for the purpose of causing others envy of their “perfect life.” People have a hidden competitiveness, wanting to visit more and more places for the sake of a few clicks and pictures in order to gain some likes and compliments.

Furthermore, this necessarily a negative trend for various reasons. First, regardless of the place or attraction, it goes unappreciated. People’s dedication and effort to building said place all goes unappreciated. Additionally, people take away opportunities from others. If said place was limited to a certain amount of visitors or limited-time event, they take away visiting opportunities from others. As well as that, making memories and connections have lost meaning to people.

In a nutshell, I think people have been too immersed in their online presence. They have seem to lost passion for making memories and connecting to the outside world. Selfies are temporary, but memories last longer in the heart.