You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words

A substantial increased in global air travel has been reported in the last decade. There are several circumstances behind this phenomenon, bringing advantages and unfortunate obstacles. This essay will explore both the reasons and consequences of this activity.

Firstly, one of the reasons for an increased volume of flights is due to tourism, as flying is getting considerably more accessible in terms of costs and availability. In detail, the advantage of tourism is boosting local economies, bringing new businesses like cultural institutions to thrive in these conditions. However, one of the disadvantages of tourism can be felt in many countries, causing inflation and unbalanced economies. For example, without restrictions imposed by the goverment, Portugal is facing the worst housing crisis since 2007, transforming normal residencial buildings into Hotels and other types of short-term rentals, causing inflation and housing shortages.

Secondly, it’s pivotal to address the contemporary tendency to multiculturism and globalisation, resulting on a natural increase in air travel. In detail, flying is important to unite communities and help people circulate between different countries, either to visit or to stay. Once again, Portugal is a good example of a globalized society, with different ethnicities due to immigration. However, this also brings disadvantages to a country facing housing shortages, imposing obstacles that should be addressed by the goverment in order to develop laws and regulations to allow freedom of circulation without jeopardizing social equality.

Furthermore, one of the worst consequences of global travel are the carbon emissions. In detail, global travel is the form of transportation that pollutes more, increasing the risks for global warming, loss of biodiversity and habitat destruction. Additionally, the imminent danger of climate change must be taken serious by goverments, applying regulations for carbon emissions produced by airplane companies, while working close with scientist to study alternatives and adopt green energy solutions.

In conclusion, the increased volume of flights brings advantages to a globalized society, but the misuse of this transport can bring bad consequences to societies and to the environment. The onus in on goverments to demonstrate solutions for this complex problem.