You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that in modern society individuals are becoming more dependent on each other, while others say that individuals are becoming more independent of each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In the contemporary world, interpersonal relationships and interactions are massively being affected by the modernization of our society. The interdependence between people, which used to be the cornerstone of human survival, is nowadays being replaced by emerging self-reliance. This transformation is due to economic development and the introduction of new artificial intelligence technologies. However, in some societies, relying on each other is still a fundamental of social success and strength.

The first striking point is the increased economic development. In developed countries, where everyone can access employment opportunities and earn a living, they will develop self-confidence and esteem and start to rely on their husbandry. For instance, individuals with well-paying jobs and financial stability tend to think that their wealth can solve every puzzle. Therefore, acquiring a mentality of self-dependence.

Moreover, the most fascinating point is the introduction of assistive artificial intelligence technologies. The technological advancements like ChatGPT, Siri, Google assistance, and others, which provide personal support in the digital world, are progressively dominating people’s relationships. For example, if I am having difficulties with anything, I will just ask ChatGPT or Siri to help, and they will perfectly help me. Therefore, the possibility that I could request someone else to intervene.

However, in underdeveloped countries, individuals are becoming more dependent on one another. Due to poor economy and inadequate education, workers need their employers to survive, and those with limited knowledge or skills need those with wisdom to cope with life’s demands. For example, due to the poor economy in Burundi, people tend to rely on each other, where sellers need buyers, students need teachers, investors need bankers, and so on. Therefore, the contribution of social interdependence cannot be overlooked.

In conclusion, although individuals are becoming less dependent on each other in the current modern society, underdeveloped societies still rely on such interaction. Financial development and technological advancements have also contributed much to such transformation. Therefore, every community should establish new strategies to conserve such a unique opportunity of human nature.