You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It has occured to me that since majority rewards younger people with traditional academic success that some even points out that non-academic subjects should not be included in their school syllabus to encourage academic success more. This essay disagrees with such new educational view. I believe that young people should have a multi-dimensional view of subjects on their course as their hobbies may vary so.

One of the most significant problem is the unnecessary pressure that is tormenting young people. Such pressure may make them feel less motivated and more moody, leading them to struggle with many aspects in their lives such as relationships or academic successes. This ironically leads to opposite of what was originally planned. Additionally, removing subjects that they might be interested in might make them feel discouraged due to their own preferances, leading them to doubt their own values.

Another important matter to be discussed is the overall view of how negativelly non- academic subjects are being treated as. The ideology suggests that if one subject is not rewarding one’s academic succesess, then they are insignificant. Young people should be encouraged with what they truly are interested in. It should be noted that the error of such thinking actually disrupts young people’s balance of cognitive skills. If a young indiviual were to focus on math and science, which are subjects that requires critical thinking and problem solving abilities, while ignoring subjects that focuses on physical movement and health, such as physical education, then the indiviual would naturally feel overwhelmed.

Overall, I believe that even if certain subjects may not be rewarding young people academically, absence of them would create new problems. The influence of such subjects are significant as they increase young people’s motivation levels while balancing the variety of the cognitive skills they have.