You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think news has no connection to people's lives, so it is a waste of time to read the news in newspapers and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

In today’s modernised society, everything is moving at an ever-faster pace. Some people are busy trying to look for ends meet and therefore, reading newspapers or watching news programs on television is a waste of time. However, I strongly believe that as human beings, we have the obligation to understand the what is happening around us via newspapers and television news programs.

On the one hand, some people often think that the news have no connection to people’s lives is because often times they have other priorities in hand that requires immediate attention to and they rarely find news a productive activity since it does not generate income for them. Many people neglect the fact that news is important in order for to plan financially for a better future. For example, many people often have busy schedules daily and working overtime seems to be a norm in certain societies. They lack the necessary time to read up on news and thinks that it does not help them to earn a living. Hence, this mindet may change people’s perception in reading news thinking that it is useless.

On the other hand. advocators like me who deeply support the fact that reasing news is important and should be practiced usually have stronger language skills and critical thinking. Reading news help to gain extra knowledge and improve their literacy skills. For example, recent studies have revealed that people who often read newspapers or watch television news programs for 2 hours per day showed higher intellectual ability and mastering languages. Hence, it can be clearly seen that reading news is beneficial.

In conclusion, although some people may disregard the importance of reading news, reading news is actually good for our ability to comprehend and understand complex concepts while at the same time, improving the way we acquire language. Therefore, the government should encourage people to read newspaper by investing more money on printing newspapers and introducing new television news programs into the country.