You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic: There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays? You should write at least 250 words. Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Nowadays there are a lot of new genres of music. This type of art is known from ancient times, so the biological requirement for music still exists in our genes blended with wish to socialize. Nevertheless, owing to globalization we now hear not only our cultural folk music, but also worldwide viral songs, which I don’t believe is more important than local.

For thousand of years, our ancestors used sounds, which then transmitted into some kind of music, to survive and keep their family safe and sound. Later, humans had to amuse their ruler and the rich. In 21st century music is more than just amusement, it is entertainment for all the generations. We need music to feel better, relax or cry. What is more, people create communities due to their music taste and become part of fandoms of their favorite artists. For instance, I like breaking the ice with the question ‘who is your favorite singer?’, and usually people tend to open, and true conversation commences.

With the creation of trains and planes, humankind started to massively travel and move to other countries and cities, which led to mix of languages, cultures and, of course, music. Especially with the popularity of social media, such as TikTok and Instagram, every type of song can go viral, and all over the world the young would be obsessed with the new kind of music that is uncommon to their local. With this tendency, young people will not be interested in traditional music. The drawback is that they can forget their cultural identity. From my point of view, international music is less important than traditional music of a country, nevertheless we should be open-minded and embrace all genres of the beautiful kind of art – music.

In conclusion, humans need music evolutionary, and with the step towards globalization tradional music is less popular, but it doesn’t makes it less important.