You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Currently, students in some countries are tend to move to another city for studying, while others stay with their parents. In my opinion, the possible drawbacks of studying in another city are far outweighted by potential benefits.

First of all, the obvious disadvantages are loneliness and homesickness. In other words, students, who attend to university in another city can feel lonely and wish to meet with their relatives. As a result, students can be negatively affected and underperform due to the unknown environment, which can negatively affect their academic success. However, considering that this issue can be addressed through family visits and internet allows to communicate even over continents, the argument should not be seen as substantial.

One advantage of studying abroad is that how it can broaden the person’s horizon. Students, exposed to different cultures, can be aware of different cultures and learn about their traditions, making them more tolerant to other nations. For example, Erasmus+ programme offers an experience of studying abroad for students all over the world, helping them to learn about customs and habits of other countries. In addition to this, allowing students to study in another city can help them to be more independent. That is to say, people who are live alone, have to do routine tasks such paying for the bills or washing dishes by themselves, making them more autonomous. This can help them to grow up as an independent individual, overcoming barriers, met by them throughout the life on their own.

In conclusion, although attending to university in another city or country may have certain drawbacks, this tendency seems to be mostly advantageous.