You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The students living situation has been a contentious subject in today’s world. Debate centres on whether university students should live with their families while studying or not. In this essay, the reasons why living with familiy during college overshadows the benefits of living away from home will be exposed.

First, moving out while pursuing a degree can foster independence in young students, since involves leaving their comfort zone (home) to start living on their own. This can have a positive effect as the person experience new situations such as buying groceries and paying utilities which contribute to their personal development. For example, many students in Venezuela have to move from the countryside to the capital to enrolled in a university, and they are usually the most focused and diligent students among all. Nevertheless, the emotional burden placed on their shoulders is one of the main reasons why these types of students end up dropping college and moving back home.

Therefore, students have to consider the stress that attending university in another city implies. Not only do they have to handle university assigments and projects, but also they have to address their living situation. This is extremely challenging for students who do not receive a monthly allowance, forcing them to look for a part-time job, which can eventually lead to burnout. For instance, depression among university students is especially common for those who work and study at the same time, and the dropuot rate is also higher. Additionally, the lack of emotional support while living alone is another reason that overshadows staying in another city while pursuing a degree.

In conclusion, even though enrolling in a university outside their city can cultivate independence in college students since they encounter new experiences, the stress and lack of emotional support while living by their own outweighs the benefits.