You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, most of the bought food items are packed. Since, it is widely believed that producers and supermarkets are responsible for reducing the packaging goods, while others argue that consumers play an active role in avoidance of buying packed items. In this essay, I will discuss these views and explain why I lean towards that manufacturers and supermarkets should take initiative steps and customers also play a significant role.

Many people claim the diminishing of the use of packaging falls in the hands of producers and supermarkets. This is mainly due to the fact that manufacturers sell packed items, they can implement changes and use reusable bags for selling goods. For instance, many supermarkets and manufacturing companies use non-degradeable or single-use plastic bags, which end up in landfills. Furthermore, producing companies can adopt any eco-friendly methods to carry goods from manufacturing sites to market areas. Therefore, these two play a significant role in initiating a change selling method of goods.

On the other hand, despite these opinions, others argue that consumers have considerable power to change the buying habits. One main reason is that customers can choose minimal or recycling bags to purchase foods or other items. While buying fruits or vegetables, for instance, individuals can carry their own bags, which could avoid packaged foods. Additionally, avoiding the purchase of packed goods signals manufacturers to rethink their packaging strategies and adopt eco-friendly choices. Thus, consumers’ change of buying habits is significant in reducing the amount of packaging of goods.

In conclusion, large stakeholders can remodel their method of selling goods, while consumers should be conscious of their preferences when buying. In my opinion, I personally believe that large companies, supermarkets, and individuals should work together to reduce the production and use of packing goods, and to create a sustainable future.