You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In today’s society, hospitals play a crucial role in maintaining public health. The question of whether the government should provide medical services free of charge or charge residents for them has sparked considerable debate. I firmly believe that while essential healthcare should be accessible to all, it should be funded through taxes, as basic necessities like healthcare should be made available to everyone regardless of their financial situation.

To begin with, healthcare is the primary duty of the government to take care of their resident. Health is essential for a person’s well-being and productivity. As a fundamental need, it should be made accessible to everyone, regardless of their financial condition. Providing free medical service ensures that one is denied care due to financial constraints, contributing to social equality and public health. In Canada, for example, medical is free which benefits the the people’s pocket, and no need to worry about finances as people of that country can go to the hospital and get free treatment.

Moreover, there are ample public health benefits such as it can prevent the spread of diseases, leading to a healthier population overall. Preventative care becomes more widely accessible, reducing the long-term burden on the healthcare system. A healthy population contributes to a productive workforce, which helps the economy in the long term. For instance, in recent scrutiny conducted by the University of Toronto, found that most of the deaths that occurred in 2024 were due to insufficient treatment of the diseases.

In conclusion, I agree that free medical services will be not only helpful for society but also for the overall development of the country’s economy.