You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

There is an alarming phenomenon of certain species of animals facing extinction while many others seem to be endangered. The paragraphs below outline the undelying casues and the possible solutions to prevent devastating consequences of loss in biodiversity.

It is argued that poaching is one of the threats contributing to animal extinction. Outlaws place their targets on rare wildlife such as sharks. A research from Harvard University pointed out that the shark fins cost hundreds of millions among Chinese societies, fishermen secretly hunt for that despite the law banning them. Another factor causing damage to biodiverity of the fauna is habitat devestation due to excessive carbon emission. BBC reported that over one-third of the glacier melted in Arctic, leaving polar bears with less homes. Many of them could not locate a new settlement, and died drowning into ice water. Similar situations happen to various animals around the world.

To combat this threat, it is suggested that government should reinforce the law to by setting higher penalties. Such act is believed to stun poachers from committing offences. On the other hand, a call for awareness on reducing daily carbon emission should carried out. By promoting recycle, reuse and avoid over-comsumption among consumers across the globe, it is hoped that the carbon released through human activities could be minimalised.

To sum up the reasons why a lot of wildlife is endangered and currently in the blink of extinction, threats such poaching and excessive carbon emission played an important role. Sensible ways to improve this situation is by setting stricter laws and reduce over-consumption.