You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nature has already lost a considerable number of animal species, while many others are soon to face the same outcome. This is mainly because of the destruction of their habitat and also the unethical demand put on these animals. There are a number of solutions which should be implemented to deal with the risk of extinction.

One of the most evident reasons for the extinction of the wild-life is deforestation. The depletion of wood and trees from forests leaves its inhabitants without shelter or food, leading to the decrease in their numbers .For example, the biggest rain forest in the world, the Amazon forest, recorded the disappearance of many animal kinds due to the earlier exploitation of its trees. Another reason would be the illegal hunting and trading of endangered animals, due to the unjustified demand on their meat and fur. As a result, the world has lost many living creatures and more are at risk.

There are two effective solutions to minimize the risk of extinction. One measure to take is putting strict restrictions on the extraction of wood in some places while completely prohibiting it in locations where there is active wild-life to avoid the loss of biodiversity. The reponsible government has already registered the Amazon forest as a protected property to protect the forest and its residents. A second measure would be building and maintaining animal sanctuaries to preserve the lives of all animals, keeping them isolated and protected without limiting their freedom or changing their lifestyles.

In conclusion, animal extinction has become an recurring problem, preserving their habitat and protecting them from the outside world can be very effective in tackling this issue.