You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people work for the same organisation all their working life. Others think that it is better to work for different organisations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

The debates between those who conceive their workplace as the lifetime mission and so-called “surfers” who are willing to change the companies they work for each few years have started to intensify in the second half of the twentieth century. In this essay I will meticulously investigate the arguments behind both the opinions and share my own prospective.

First and foremost, it is paramount to emphasize that the attitude in changing organizations significantly depends on cultural environment and mentality of certain nations. For instance, Asian people mostly are aimed at finding a well-established company where they can spend all their working life before the retirement, getting to higher positions step by step. On the contrary, in Western countries the rapid pace of onboarding and quitting new employees considered as a normal part of life.

On the one hand, individuals who prefer to be stuck to the same workplace for decades, can be understood in terms of stability. Typically, they feel themselves more protected and safer since for the companies that appropriately maintain this approach it is much harder to onboard new people. Instead, these organizations prefer to provide new opportunities for the current employees, including refresher courses along with the clear career prospectives. In other words, that means that while you follow the proposed pathway, you will be confident in how your future will look like in the decades ahead.

On the other hand, working for various companies has some significant advantages. Those who pick this way are typically prepared for some uncertainty and risks, but they take these risks along with a chance to get various experiences or even the unexpected raise in level of income. Moreover, these people stay more flexible and will be prepared for any upcoming challenges in case their current company crashes.

In conclusion, it makes sense to admit that neither of these ways does not outweigh another one. And from where I stand, I wholeheartedly believe that each individual should make a choice that fits most one’s lifestyle and expectations. For example, for me doing the same job for years without a change even to change my location sounds like a nightmare spot, while for many my acquaintances this is the most comfortable and clear way to build their own lives.