You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays, Many people believe that the American film industry has influenced us in many ways that we are leaving our cultural values behind. Therefore, the government should step in and invest some funds to protect and encourage local film industries to promote more cultural values in films. I think saving tradition is necessary for all countries as it has the country’s pride and values to pass on to the upcoming generation.

Firstly, American movies mostly represent their cultural values and ideas. Therefore, having too much influence of Western culture can change people’s behaviour and lifestyles. For instance, US films have more action and crime scenes, which might affect youngsters’ mental health. Moreover, American films often promote fast foods, which can lead people to eat more junk food as they think it is a popular choice.

Secondly, The government should protect their country’s rituals and culture by educating people. Therefore, The best way to do that is to invest in local film industries and make short films to promote awareness about the country’s heritage. For instance, In many countries, the government has banned some American tv shows and movies to protect the value of their country.

To conclude, The American film industry has amazing movies however, entertainment should not be the only object of film, it can promote cultural values. Governments have a responsibility to protect culture by giving money to their film industries