You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is assumed that the elders benefits the society, whereas the others consider that it brings more issues to have an ageing population. The writer of this essay thinks that the advantage of old experienced workers does not overshadow the disadvantages of rising taxes for pension and increasing manpower for nursing to take care of them.

One of the main disadvantage which cause problems in having elderly residents in the society is tax rise. To exemplify, elderly citizens are not capable of working or making money since they retired when they get old and lack physical fitness. Therefore, it is their finance that is no longer able to pay for their living costs or consuming products which leads to government’s responsibity to help with their payment. As a consequence, there are increases in costs as well as a part of national budger would be taken to satisfy these ageing people’s demand.

Turning to the next drawback which makes elderly people an issue in the necessity of nurses who looking after the elder. To simplify, old citizens are not able to take care of themselves, thus, they need some caring staff to support them. For instance, elders who get amnesia find it difficult to remember any thing, so they demand of nurse’s helping with housework. As a result, the rising number of people take part in these jobs would result in lack of workforce in other fields.

On the other hand, it is argued that there are old elites who could benefit the community. To explain further, as these seniors have participated in occupations for years, their experience might be valuable to deal with problems and become advisors for companies and corporations. Although it could be an advantage, experienced clites only account for a tiny segment in the population which means they are rare cases. In addition, retired workers are not willing to work or some of them are considered to be not available to join in workfore anymore. For example, with weakened memory, several elders are definitely unable to address problems.

In conclusion, the profit of senior workers does not outweigh the disadvantages of having ageing population in the society such as of taxes the increment of taxes to pay for pension and manpower to satisfy the demand for nurses.