You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience Write at least 250 words

In today’s world, there is a striking increase in the number of pupils who travel abroad in search of tertiary education. With this trend, a host of benefits could be enumerated; however, it is incontestable that this practice does carry with it the possibility of certain adverse consequences.

Perhaps the most significant advantage of enrolling in foreign colleges is the wonderful opportunity to experinece a diverse range of cultures. The sheer multinational friendships established in dormitories and the various sorts of cultural foods tasted in the shared kitchens do wonders for the development of an individual’s sense of belongingness to the international community. I, myself, had the rare chance to travel to Europe as part of an exchange internship program, where I was able to meet my acuaintances, fall in love with countless European dishes, and, most importantly, meet my partner in life.

Nevertheless, there are two sides of a coin, and while the fruits reaped from such a journey are attractive, they come with one major setback: finance. It is extremely troublesome for the vast majority of international students to cover all their expenses in other nations, as most universities charge higher tuition fees and supply separate, more expensive accomodation alternatives for foreigners. This has also been my experience during my adventure in Europe, unfortunately. And, were it not for my girlfriend, I would have ended up in the freezing streets of Prague.

On the whole, embarking on the path to attend higher educational facilities is an exciting step necessary to achieve a personal growth emanating from a blend of global wisdom. Nonetheless, in order for it to have a truly transformative impact, it should be supplemented with a carefully calculated financial plan.