You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience Write at least 250 words

Recently, studying abroad become a popular option for students tertiary education. However, this provides a several advantages and disadvantages, which may affect their academic performance and life in their university.

This opportunity actually fosters the exposure of different cultures, or even an immersion of a new environment from their motherland. With such intercultural communication, students can further address or understand a variety of global issues with a different perspective. For those who have just left their home country after high school education and seek for their higher education in a foreign country, despite gaining insights by an entirely new education system, they could share their experiences and cultures from their motherland with students who have different backgrounds. It could be valuable in their future job, as intercultural communication is a vital skill in their careers.

In the other hand, staying abroad may have its flaws in terms significant cultural shock for students. To prenatal being opt out in their community, they need to adapt the local culture, including their customs and social norms. Especially for those who travelled without their family or friends, the lack of emotional support contributes to an unwillingness to learn and deteriorates their academic grade when they need to overcome a huge barrier of homesickness. Even though in nowadays students can talk to their friends virtually with the help of video call technology, in some occasions, their packed schedules make them can’t even sacrifice a bit of time to chat.

In conclusion, studying in foreign countries may bring several benefits, but poses also more emotional difficulties to overcome. To make their ideal decision for senior education, it’s always crucial to think carefully by considering its potential pros and cons.