You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience Write at least 250 words

In recent decades, most of the students prefer to study in their native country for a university degree but these days, the opportunity for them to study abroad has been risen and it brings both pros and cons as well.

In my opinion, studying abroad offers various advantages as foreign universities may offer better courses. Therefore, many students want to attend a foreign university. High-ranked universities like those in US, UK or Australia employ teachers who are very expert in teaching. Moreover, it can broaden students’ thoughts and knowledge, too. Students studying abroad can learn different customs and traditions. For instance, they may know the foreign language or they can learn about the famous occasions.

However, there are some drawbacks. Firstly, living and studying abroad can be difficult as students are responsible for cooking, washing and paying bills or taxes on their own. This can lead to homesickness. Another point is studying foreign language is a bit challenging and the language barrier can be a problem because it is not our native language. The last one maybe visa problems. As an example, if I want to go to some European countries from my country, Myanmar, visa is required. So, to get visa, we have to wait for a queue in front of the immigration or the embassy of the country we want to go, which is very time consuming.

To conclude, no matter whether it have advantages or disadvantages, there are still most of the students who have a dream of studying abroad.