You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

There are two sides to every issue. People wanting governments to spend money looking for life on other planets might be right in their own ways, others thinking this as a waste of public money with other problems prevailing also have their reasons. It’s the perspective that changes the opinion.

As our planet is getting damaged day to day, due to various human activities. As the technological advancements are growing, the needs of humans are also increasing. Comfort and laziness being prominent factors, for example even to buy groceries from a local shop located 2 kms away, people are preferring to commute by motorcycle. This little action has a greater impact on the environmental carbon release. Unconsciously mankind got habituated to polluting the nature, this seems irreversible. The same situation could be repeated even if new planet is found, rather than searching for a new place to spoil, learning to maintain the location is important.

It is uncertain if a planet as such even exists, spending huge costs in looking for a different habitat with such a doubt in current conditions looks foolish. However, using this to eradicate the existing difficulties would be more beneficial. Contrary to looking for a new earth, working on making the present world livable looks more practical. Being habituated by the atmosphere, with our history and emotional connection will make it difficult to leave this planet. Imposing strict rules throughout the countries can aid in repairing our home.

In my opinion putting efforts in improving the persisting problems with the public money would be a safer option, instead of looking for another place.