You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

Advancements in technology have provided people with new ways of thinking and have given them new perspectives. It is said by some people that the government wants to expend their money in searching for life on other planets, whereas others think that this is an unnecessary use of public money amidst so many problems occurring on planet Earth. This essay will outline key points regarding the two distinct views and also outline my own opinion on the subject.

To begin with, looking for life on other planets can be advantageous in numerous ways. Primarily, this will lead to great advancements in space exploration in human history, which can inspire the younger generations to become scientists, astronauts, and engineers. Moreover, exploring life on other planets can contribute to bringing different nations together in order to achieve a unified goal. Hence, this increases global cooperation and helps different countries to work towards common objectives.

However, critics argue that there are a multitude of issues persisting on Earth which need to be considered by the government, as they have a direct impact on people’s lives. Essentially, problems such as climate change, ozone depletion, global warming, floods, and earthquakes require immediate attention and specific funding to eradicate these problems. Furthermore, the outcomes of space exploration are uncertain, and hence, spending money on them is a mere waste of funds and time. Besides, this money can be spent on numerous other things such as increasing renewable source technologies, social welfare, and construction purposes.

In my opinion, it is just a luxury to spend money on such space programs, as this money can be wisely expended upon building better lives for the people of the country and protecting them from various natural disasters.

To conclude, although astronautics and its technologies play an important role in advancing a country’s future and making it successful, yet priority problems such as climate issues must be addressed first, and the money must be invested in creating a better life for the present society and the coming generations.