You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that governments should ban dangerous sports, while others think people should have freedom to do any sports or activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion You should write at least 250 words.

Extreme sports such as skydiving, are known to pose a serious risk of death or permanent injuries. Despite this, they have been widely accepted over the years in the sporting culture. Some people argue that the government should ban them while others think they should have freedom to do any sport. In this essay I shall explain both views and give my opinion.

Firstly, the government banning extreme sports can lead to the plummeting number of tourists and athletes visiting the country and therefore, they lose foreign exchange. It can also discourage international organizations such as olympics from being hosted in such countries.

To understand why people engage in dangerous sports, research was conducted by a team of sport experts from University of Chicago in 1975 on the effects of skydiving. It was found that when the human body is exposed to intense pressure it produces a ton of hormones called adrenaline and hence the word, adrenaline rush. It is a feeling described by experienced surfers as sensational and free.

However, one can not underestimate the catastrophic effects of participating in such activities. This is because the risk of losing lives is very high. A study showed that almost 2 people in every 30 rock climbing incident lose a life to it.

In conclusion, the government should not ban extreme sport rather they should impliment policies that tighten the safety regulations of companies providing these services. It is also good to remember that the responsibility is on the hands of the participant