You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

With the improvement of technology and medical service, it becomes more common for people to live longer than before. It is argued that if there are more elder people in society, there will be more problems whereas some people think the other way. In my opinion, the disadvantages of having too many elder people definitely outweigh the advantages. In the following paragraphs I will give further details about it.

It is true that there are some advantages if the society has more elder people. First of all, those people have already been through a lot, they have more experiences than young ages. When it comes to work, they can handle problems more sharply and effectively. Even more, experiences can be passed by them so that other people can follow. Secondly, most people with old age probably have earned plenty of wealth when they were young. In that case, they tend to work for their interest not for earning more money. And companies can hire them with a lower wage that the cost of labor will go down for sure which is good for economy.

However, there are always two sides of the story. The disadvantages of ageing population could be very serious. To begin with, the load of medical services will increase without a doubt. The government has to come up with some ideas to complete the medical services and policy of social benefits. Besides, if companies can hire elder people with lower wage, it will cause a huge impact to young people who’s trying to get a job. The job opportunities might be taken by older people and younger people couldn’t find a job which is not a good sign for any country.

To sum up, ageing population brings some of advantages for the society for sure. But it also takes lots of money and costs. I truly believed that the disadvantages are far more than the advantages.