You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words

A hot topic in modern societies is that of changes in traditional school systems. While certain individuals are of the idea that juveniles should go through every mandatory course at school, others reckon that it would be better for the youth to exclusively focus on the disciplines they are more skilled in or attract them. In my opinion, the most formative choice is to expose children to all the subjects the school system provides.

First and foremost, it is important to say that a student, especially when very young, could feel that a certain subject is boring or not fitting them, basing on the superficial knowledge they have of it. In other words, exposing a child to topics he doesn’t find stimulating enough could subsequently lead to them discovering something that is unexpectedly interesting. This is, in fact, what happened to me with maths: when I started elementary school I used to hate it, but, as I grew up, I got to know its real appeal. Secondly, having to deal with subjects you don’t like at school is useful for a student’s ability to manage challenging and unexpected matters, which are naturally part of life, especially as you grow up.

Regarding the possibility for children to drop out of courses they don’t like, I think it doesn’t make sense at all. Firstly, it would represent an easy way out of the challenging and instructive aspects of school: how could a student grow up as a person if not facing some obstacles? Secondly, although at younger ages it could be fun and appealing to go to school only for courses you are into, as you become a teenager and your personality becomes more complex and detailed, having to deal always with the same courses without any challenge will become boring, and so will school in general.

To sum up, I think that allowing kids to only take part in courses they’re good at or they find interesing is not useful. In fact, obstacles and challenges, given by classes you’re not totally comfortable with, build up more prepared and independent individuals. In addition to this, students could also discover a subject they like by engaging in something that’s initially not interesting to them.