You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

In today’s world, some people agree that death penalty should be banned, while others believe that it should be carried out for the serious crimes. This essay will discuss both perspectives before presenting my views, which supports capital punishment should not be allowed.

Firstly, some individuals believe that by implementing capital punishment can reduce crime rate. Additionally, people are likely more aware of the regulations and rules, resulting in lower crime rate. Most importantly, they believe that by legalising death penalty will form a harmonious society. However, there are alternative ways to punish serious offenders, for example, life imprisonment. Furthermore, governments should provide intensive psychological treatment and rehabilitation for the serious offenders. A 2021 study in Finland (2011-2021) showed that serious offenders that received intensive treatment in prisons did not repeat their crimes after released from prison. Additionally, they were able to contribute positively to their society.

On the other hand, I support that death penalty should not be legalised. It is widely believed that everyone reserves a second chance. Therefore, it is important to provide opportunities to serious criminals to change. As I mentioned, by providing intensive treatment to the criminals, they are likely to be more aware of their behaviours and have lower chances to repeat their crimes. A 2023 study in the UK compared countries that allowed capital punishment and those banned it. The results proved that the crime rate was lower in the countries that banned such punishment.

To sum up, governments should implement rules and regulations to ensure safety of a nation. However, capital punishment should not be the only approach to do so. We should provide appropriate assistance to them, and help them to restart their second life.