You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Envirnment around museums and historical cites is usually build for tourists and not local population, which results in them visited more by the former than the latter.

What can be the reason to visit a popular city attraction? To know more about it. To admire the view or cone closer to the culture it represents. These are things that tourists are more interested in than local population. We all learn about our country at school, sometimes even visit a museum once. However, foreigners usually do not posses knowledge about a new country, besides some general information. They want to pay to know more about it.

Therefore, another demention to this disscussion is added. There are people who are in charge of administrating museums and historical cites. They need money in order to support thie enterprise if its not on gouvernment subsidation. Consequentaly, it is no wonder that a lot of places like this take money for entery. Maybe, if visiting your local church would not have cost you 10 dollars each time, you would go there more. This situation is evident in St. Isaac’s Cathedral in St. Petersburg. Spending your money on one time attraction of looking at a beautiful city from above is understandable. However, people do not go there to pray often as it is, firstly, costly and, secondly, splashed with tourists.

In conlusion, it can be said that for the citisens of particular country to visit their national cites more, there should be time when it could be done in relative peace and at lesser cost.