You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the modern world, almost every single young person is addicted to screens. Some of them spend multiple hours each day on their mobile phones. This essay discusses what’s the cause of this issue and argues why this is a negative development.

The cause of this issue is that parents are not giving as much attention to their children as they used to give in the past. Parents hand over their mobile phones to their kids so they can work without getting interrupted. For instance, to stop me from creating mess and breaking things, my mother bought me a tablet so that I could play games on it without making noise or creating a mess.

In my opinion, I strongly agree that it’s a negative development due to the following main reasons. Firstly, this age is crucial for children’s brain development. Excessive use of smartphones at an early age might slow down the brain growth process in children because it requires one to think and raise questions. Children at a young age often ask very objective questions such as Who are we? where are we living? etc. Moreover, children should be encouraged to play physical games because they boost your child stamina and is good for their health. In contrast, sitting still looking at screen without any physical excersize could lead to obesity Additionally, increase use of smartphones among children might cause cause serious health problems such as headache or week eyesight because of harmful light radiation coming out of screen directly to our eyes. For example, spending hours using mobile phones every single day had weekend my eyesight in the age of 13 and because of that i now wear glasses.

In conclusion, although keeping your children’s busy with mobile phones might buy you some time to do your daily chores however it could lead to serious problems including physical and mental health problems such as eyesight and obesity. Furthermore, it could affect the growth of the brain in children.