You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, people have been focusing more on cultures outside of their countries, and instead of discovering their own roots, learning more about it and connecting with where they come from. People are too focused on discovering the outside world. Although, this is not a problem necessarily, but it can be a bit sad.

People are starting to forget what beauty their lands possess as they are so consumed with wanting more, and instead of appreciating what they already have, they are appreciating lands outside. Tourists all around the world visit the country and appreciate museums and historical sites of the country, because it could be a part of their itinerary, some people might have the passion of learning and discovering, and others might be simply intrigued. Tourists come all the way from their countries to appreciate what we have, and instead of appreciating the beauty we have, we are going blind on our own beauty. We need to create better efforts in striving to have our own countries musuems and historical sites being seen by locals and not just tourists. If we make sure locals also see that, then we would have less locals leaving their countries as they are mystically engrossed by what we already preserve.

A way we can attract local people more, is to implement nature tours, better guide advertisements, programmes for learning better about culture and background of the country, and all of this can improve the attraction of locals, and there will be an increase in the locals visitors. I find it sad and upsetting that we are not taking in consideration to actually value our prized posessions, but with the right approach and encouragement that will hopefully change.