You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Healthcare systems have been evolving to provide the best service for patients and citizens. However, many people argue that the medical care provided in hospitals should be free and funded by the government. In my perspective, I believe that the healthcare services must be free.

Many people are of the opinion that the healthcare services should be paid for. First, they argue that this decision’s extreme consequences are going to cause the government to go bankrupt. For instance, if people do not have to pay for the medicine, they would not have to worry about their expenditure on them and take more than what they are in need of. Moreover, these people can also use the hospital’s facilities, denying others, who are in dire need of these facilities, the chance of using them. By way of example, people who are in need of an operation could be waiting for an operation room occupied with people in a less critical condition to be free. Finally, paying for hospitals also helps raise the country’s economy and income.

It is evident to me that free health services should be available worldwide. To begin with, people could die due to them not being able to afford the hospital’s charges. For example, poor people tend to die rather than visiting hospitals because of the fear of being in debt. Furthermore, people with rare genetic disease often do not get the correct diagnosis until later in life due to the test required for these rare diseases being extremely expensive. To end with, the government should spend the taxes taken by the citizens to provide a free and accessible healthcare system. The most adequate way to use this money is to provide them with something that all people could benefit from on a daily basis.

In conclusion, although a free healthcare system could be exploited by the wrong people, poor people should not suffer and get denied the chance of a cure. Despite the fact that people might think that others would take away the chance of treatment from sick people. In my opinion, governments should use the money collected from the residents to provide free medical care.