You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

When people enter college, many of them have to leave home and study in another city. This allows people to live in an environment that they are not familiar with, and forces them to be independent. I will give some examples to explain why living away from home brings out multiple advantages.

For those students who do not live at home, they either live in dormitary or rent an apartment with others. Most of them have to live with strangers from other cities and learn how to create a comfortable atmesphere. This is a great opportunity to improve communication and social skills. Take myself for instance, I used to be shy and would not start the conversation with strangers in the past. However, I gradually learned how to chat with the people that I was not aquintance after I spent three years living in dormitary. I can now easily speak with strangers without being nervous.

Furthurmore, people can make new friends and create deeper connections with others by living away from home. For example, my friends who rent the apartment together often hang out with each other a lot. They have meals before and after school, they help each other deal with the difficulties they encounter. Just a year after college, they became best freinds and they were like siblings to each other. For the students who live at home will never have a chance to experience this sort of relationship.

Overall, based on my friends and my own experiences, I firmly believe that the benefits of living away from home outweigh the disadvantages. People can not only learn how to be social, but also can create deep connections with roomates and become lifetime friends.