You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In the modern world, there is a movement away from written exams to more practical assessments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

In the current world, some has stranded from the traditional paper-based test and focus more on assessing hands-on experiences of the students. This movement has brought a varying opinions, it is mainly divided either into it being able to help students adapt to working environment or students making a poor decision in their job.

On one hand, focusing on practical skills that are needed on the work field is necessary so that students’ rate of growth increase drastically. If the system implemented works by teaching potential worker their essential skills, including technical and soft skills, it would help them adapt earlier to their roles later on in their life. For example, doing a lot of presentations will help with public speaking and confidence during meetings.

Though we must also take into account, that it can also lead to unsatisfying performance. The cost of implementing this movement is the less allocation towards essential foundation theory. Deciding the next course of action is based on theories learned which ease the process of consideration of choices. Without sufficient theoretical knowledge, not only will it effect the worker, the whole company could take a loss because the lack of it.

In conclusion, this movement has brought in many different views. It is important to take both points of view into account before incorporating this system fully. There needs to be adjustments to balance both the benefits and drawbacks, so that the system can reach it’s goal with minimal errors.