You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

There is an ongoing debate about whether individual acts can affect the environment, improving it, or if just government and companies actions can have an impact. Personally, I believe that to achieve different sustainable goals, collaboration, from both individuals and bigger entities, is needed. The main impact has to be made by companies and government; although, there are also minor sustainable changes that can have a huge impact.

Major environmental problems are caused by industries, through chemical emissions, due to production systems. Since the industrial revolution, our planet has been experiencing major problems, caused by air and water pollution. This phenomenon is caused by factories, that release chemical waste in the sea and whose machines produce toxic fumes that damage air quality. Since they are the main cause for environmental issues, regulating their activity is essential.

For this reason, government has to be involved, controlling their actions and working with them, to become environmentally friendly. Strict regulations have to be made, in addition to new investments in green spaces and green alternatives. Moreover, polititians have to encorauge citiziens to adopt more sustainable options in their everyday lives, to fix other problems like emission caused by traffic. While the main source of air pollution is industial fumes, at the same time, car emissions are also contributing. For this reason, using different methods of transportation can help. Another issue is water waste. Just by reducing the amount of water used for showering or doing the dishes, we can solve this matter.

In conclusion, everyone can help the environment. Is not possible to achieve the needed change, if there is not a global collaboration. Every act has an impact onto our planet, so adopting sustainable alternatives, in our everyday lives, can help.