You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less. You should write at least 250 words.

Consumption of sugary drinks has been increasing for the past few decades, particularly as the fast food industry has experienced significant growth. This essay will analyze the underlying causes of this trend and propose possible solutions to address it.

There are several factors why people tend to consume more sugar-based drinks, two of which are due to the charming ingredients and marketing. To begin with, such beverages have a considerable amount of sugar in each serving. A typical example of this is that a 330ml Coke bottle contains up to 36g of sugar, which is equal to the amount needed for a day. For this reason, it boosts people’s energy immediately and hence, more consciousness. Another contributing factor is advertisements. With the relentless development of technology, advertising companies can create fascinating ads that easily tempt consumers, particularly children. These ads usually contain happiness and relief with their products, leading to the increasing demand and consumption.

Some practical measures can be suggested in order to tackle the issue. One effective solution is imposing high taxes on soft beverages and sugar-based drinks as well as establishing strict laws and regulations in the market. As people usually avoid impacts on their financial sustainability, consumption will be discouraged, while restriction on advertising and selling in schools can reduce demand. What is more, governments should launch educational campaigns in schools and the society to raise awareness of both students and adolescents. These campaigns should show the risks of overconsumption, while recommending healthier food choices.

To sum up, people have more sugary drinks due to several demands, some of which are thirst, energy, and satisfaction. Still, it is clear that excessive intake of these kinds of beverages poses several health risks so solutions should take place to ease the situation. Should everyone raise their awareness about this topic, a healthier society can be achieved.