You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is believed that digital tools have brought individuals closer although, according to others, contemporary technology has torn relationships between people. In my opinion, it is true that modern technologies brought us closer. However, we should take in consideration the fact that these new tools have created some barriers between us.

Modern technology allows people from all over the world to communicate and express themselves. It is way easier to interact with people from the other end of the Earth than it was 100 years ago. Social medias are the main factors of this advantage. I think that without these new tools, we would not be able to learn about other cultures. In some ways , it would be true to state that modern technology brought us together as we are now able to communicate with other individuals that we would have never met in the reality. I also argue that using digital devices such as phones or Internet allows us to keep in touch with family members that live far away. This way, we could still feel their presence although they are not around us.

Despite these advantages, there are also some drawbacks that must be taken into account. When misused, modern technology and especially social medias can also divide us. Social medias are often used by youngsters to bully others. This phenomenon is called cyberbullying. This kind of bullying would have been prevented if these public platforms never existed. It is widely known that young people today spend too much time on their phones. This can also lead to tensions in households as adolescents in particular would look distant from their parents and other people. The virtual barrierr created by our screen can be the origin of tensions between us.

To conclude, it is right to say that modern technology brought us together. I share this opinion as digital tools shortened the distance that existed between humans from all over the world. However, the destructive effects of the contemporary technology should not be neglected as it has created tensions and divisions between people.